Access Control

CMMC Access Control Domain Explained

In this post we explain the CMMC access control domain and its associated requirements.

Join our newsletter:
The cybersecurity maturity model certification has 17 capability domains. The first domain and the one applying to all CMMC levels is the Access Control domain. The access control domain has four capability requirements and a total of twenty-six practices.

What is Access Control?

Access control is a method of guaranteeing that users are who they say they are and that they have the appropriate access to company data. (Source)

Access Control Domain Explained

The goal of the access control domain is to limit access to your systems and data. This includes limiting who can log into your systems. Limiting system access to authorized devices. Limiting permissions so that users, devices, and processes can only access the resources they need to fulfill business requirements.

What are the CMMC Access Control Domain Capabilities?

  • C001: Establish system access requirements
  • C002: Control internal system access
  • C003: Control remote system access
  • C004: Limit data access to authorized users and processes

Access Control Examples

Examples of access control security requirements include account management, separation of duties, least privilege, session lock, information flow enforcement, and session termination controls.

Discover Our NIST SP 800-171 & CMMC 2.0 Solutions:


Compliance Accelerator

Power through compliance. Meet and maintain your NIST SP 800-171 & CMMC 2.0 compliance requirements.

Quantum Assessor

Transform your business. Create new revenue streams and provide scalability for your NIST SP 800-171 and CMMC 2.0 services.

Supply Chain Verifier

Trust is everything. Verify, monitor, and support subcontactor compliance.